NZVA - New Zealand Veterinary Association

Dog on the range


The following awards were made to CAV members, recognising their service to the profession and animal health and welfare.

CAV annual service award

This award was initiated in 1993 to celebrate the achievements and dedication of individual veterinarians.

It is given annually to a CAV member who has contributed significantly to the branch or to the companion animal sector of the veterinary profession over a number of years.

2019 CAV annual service award recipient: Dr Rochelle Ferguson.
Read Rochelle's citation here.

See previous recipients here.


NZVA Awards

Dr Peter Blaikie and Dr Pieter Verhoek

Companion Animal Veterinarian branch members who have received NZVA Awards.

2018 NZVA Outstanding Service Award - Dr Pieter Verhoek (Previous CAV President)

In picture: Dr Peter Verhoek receiving the 2018 NZVA Outstanding Service Award from NZVA President Peter Blaikie during the NZVA All Creatures Great and Small Conference.

2017 NZVA Outstanding Service Award - Dr Stephen Merchant (Previous CAV President)

2015 NZVA Outstanding Service Award - Dr Viv Lintott (Previous CAV Treasurer)


Officers of the New Zealand Order of Merit

Professor Emeritus Boyd Jones - for services to veterinary medicine, Queens Birthday honours list 2015

Ross Blanks - for services to animal welfare, New Years honours list 2015


CAV life members

These are CAV members recognised for the outstanding service they have provided to the branch over their careers:

Dr Boyd Jones

Dr Maggie Gething

Dr Catherine Smith

Dr Ross Blanks

Dr Allan Bell

Find out more about our life members on the CAV group pages of the NZVA website.