

# **New Zealand Veterinary Association Awards**

#### President's Award

The New Zealand Veterinary Association (NZVA) recognises that certain individuals, or organisations, accomplish extraordinary achievements on behalf of the profession and as such need to be acknowledged. This Award recognises meritorious service to the veterinary profession in the broadest sense.

- 1980 Val Tarrant Womens' Division of Federated Farmers
- 1981 K S Thomson
- 1982 Veterinary Services Council
- 1984 B W Manktelow
- 1986 P R Wilson
- 1987 E J Kirk
- 1988 B F Smith
- 1989 E D Fielden
- 1991 J S Hellstrom
- 1992 A C Irving
- 1993 D G Russell
- 1994 A S Campbell
- 1995 W A Young
- 1996 M B Orr
- 1997 R C Spiers
- 1998 R H Duckworth
- 1999 N P Coddington
- 2000 E M Sommerville

- 2001 J A Harrison
- 2002 W A G Charleston
- 2003 P R Wilson
- 2004 D J Mellor
- 2005 A N Bruere
- 2006 H J Beban
- 2007 B E Goulden
- 2008 M C Gibb
- 2009 V J Peterson
- 2010 P L Hughes
- 2011 D Bayvel
- 2012 N Williamson
- 2013 Boyd Jones
- 2014 J Maclachlan
- 2015 V Williams
- 2016 Richard Wild
- 2017 Frazer Allan
- 2020 Alex Walker
- 2021 Joe Mayhew

# **Outstanding Service Award**

The Outstanding Service Award was established in 2002 to recognise individuals who deserve special recognition for service on behalf of the New Zealand Veterinary Association (NZVA). The Board aims to recognise the service of our volunteers, who each help us to ensure the profession's contribution to the country's economy, and animal health and welfare is recognised and valued.

- 2002 S M Morris
- 2002 J D Edwards
- 2003 S A Hutchings
- 2004 W B McPherson
- 2005 P D Jolly
- 2005 R T Blanks
- 2005 J Bedford
- 2007 N H Mavor
- 2008 C R Hutchings
- 2010 N J Twyford
- 2011 Jenny Weston
- 2011 J Grimmett

- 2013 D West
- 2014 R Gibson
- 2015 V Lintott
- 2016 Hans Anderson
- 2017 Steve Merchant
- 2018 Pieter Verhoek
- 2019 Wayne Ricketts
- 2021 Caroline Robertson
- 2022 Paddy Currall
- 2023 Rose Unsworth

#### **Honorary Life Member**

To recognise individuals whose contribution to New Zealand Veterinary Association (NZVA) has been of an exceptional nature. This has been sparingly awarded to date.

- A Theiler
- C J Reakes
- H A Reid
- C S M Hopkirk
- W T Collins
- D Young
- W C Barry
- A Leslie
- J F Filmer
- W M Webster
- A A Blakely
- L W N Fitch
- L J James
- J W McLean
- A Friis
- J M Stewart
- L G Thompson
- D W Caldwell
- B S Cooper
- R J Dun

- C R Ensor
- B W Manktelow
- G J Moon
- J C Newhook
- G B Peterson
- K S Thomson
- R D Jolly
- Eric Shortridge
- Robert Duckworth
- Catherine Smith
- R B Marshall
- Lloyd Whitten
- Neil Bruere
- Jenny Weston
- John Smart
- Ron Jackson (2019)
- Jim Edwards (2020)
- Boyd Jones (2021)
- Craig Irving (2023)

### Young Veterinarian (established 2017)

This award category is open to veterinarians up to the age of 35 years. The Award will honour an individual who has shown outstanding veterinary, communication, and leadership skills since graduating as a veterinarian. Nominees should possess key professional accomplishments that differentiate them from their peers.

- 2018 Ash Keown
- 2024 Emma Poole

#### **Business Excellence Award** (established 2017)

This award category is open to any veterinarian within New Zealand. The Award will recognise demonstrated business excellence that supports employee wellbeing, workplace innovation, entrepreneurial flair, professional leadership and collaboration, and/or customer service in a way that reflects positively on the veterinary profession.

- 2019 VetPlus
- 2021 Green Island Veterinary Clinic
- 2023 Franklin Vets

# **Veterinary Impact Award** (established 2017)

The Award will be bestowed on an individual who has made a considerable positive impact for the veterinary profession, animal health or welfare, or public health during the past two years. Such impact could have been made through any field of veterinary endeavour, for example clinical practice, research, education, or veterinary politics.

- 2020 Liza Schneider
- 2021 Amy Burroughs
- 2023 Jackie Benschop
- 2024 Bill Bishop

### Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) Award (established 2021)

This award recognises veterinarians who show innovative approaches to reducing Antimicrobial Usage (AMU)

- 2022 VetPlus Production Animal Team
- 2024 The Poultry Industry

# **Environmental Sustainability Award** (established 2022)

This award category is open to any individual, veterinary business or group within New Zealand. The Award will recognise and acknowledge positive steps taken by a company associated with the veterinary industry, individuals or practices towards making some practical application of the United Nation's Sustainable Development Goals (UNSDGs).

- 2023 South Wairarapa Veterinary Services
- 2024 Rebecca Smith